Dinner

Chicken Parmesan Pasta Skillet

Hey guys!

So, I’m back from vacation, so it’s cooking time again :). Sorry that I didn’t post for so long, but I had a big stock in the freezer, so I had to finish that first. And then I went on vacation.

So, what did I make this time? I wanted something quick and easy, but also delicious. I found this recipe on Pinterest and it’s a keeper. It’s so simple and delicious. I made a few adjustments to the original recipe, so see below for my version. Enjoy!

IMG_20170602_200426_350

Chicken Parmesan Pasta Skillet
Serves 4-5

Preparation: 10 min
Baking: 25 min

ø 12 inch Skillet

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts (around 400 g)
  • 1 red bell peper
  • 1 onion
  • 2 gloves of garlic
  • 500 g (16 ounces) penne pasta
  • 1 pot (600 g/24 ounce) of your favorite Marinara pasta sauce
  • 1 bal mozzarella cheese
  • 100 g parmesan cheese
  • Dried italian herbs
  • Salt and pepper
  • Fresh basil for garnish (optional)

Methods

  1. Chop up the onion, garlic, and bell pepper.
  2. Slice the chicken breast into not to big cubes.
  3. Heat up the skillet over medium high heat with some olive oil. First, bake the onion and garlic.
  4. When glaced, add the chicken. Season the chicken with the Italian herbs, salt and pepper. Bake until the chicken is done.
  5. Add the bell pepper and bake for 1-2 min more.
  6. Add the pasta and the entire jar of marinara. Fill the empty marinara jar 1 1/2 times with water and add to the skillet.
  7. Lightly stir the mixture to combine.
  8. Bring mixture to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.
  9. Cover and cook for 15 minutes or until pasta is tender to your liking. Stir occasionally.
  10. When done, cover with grated parmesan and then shredded mozzarella. No need to stir. Continue to cook for 2-3 more minutes or until cheese is fully melted.
  11. Top with chopped basil (optional)

Credit goes to http://www.thecookierookie.com/chicken-parmesan-pasta-skillet/

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment