Dutch · Pie & Cakes

Dutch Boterkoek (Butter pie)

Hey everybody,

So, I was thinking: what should be my first post? Being Dutch, I felt it needed to be something Dutch. Well, this recipe for “boterkoek” as we call it, which literally translates to butter biscuit, is super easy and oh so good! I one time treated my foreign colleagues on this pie and they all loved it. They thought it tasted like shortbread, but more chewy.

That’s exactly what it is: chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside. Absolutely delicious. I bake it every now and then, especially if I have visitors and not enough time to whip up something difficult. So, I hereby present you my mother’s recipe with a special finishing touch for an even crispier outside. Enjoy!

Boterkoek
Sorry, didn’t have time to make my own foto ©http://makkelijkerecepten.webnode.nl/products/boterkoek1

Boterkoek
Serves 8-10

Preparation: 10 min
Baking: 30-40 min

ø 20 cm (7-8 inch)

Ingredients

  • 250 gram butter (1 cup and 1 tbsp)
  • 150 gram caster sugar (3/4 cup)
  • 250 gram flour (2 cups minus 1 tbsp)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp milk

Method

  1. Preheat the oven at 200 °C (390 F)
  2. Mix and knead all ingredients into a dough
  3. Bake the butter pie for 30-40 min until the top is golden brown
  4. Take the pie out of the oven, put the milk on top, and with the back of the table spoon flatten the top o the butter pie until it’s nice and even
  5. Let the pie cool down to harden
Leave a Reply

